1317 San Pablo Ave., Berkeley CA 94702
Tel: 510-525-5054

Fax: 510-525-3630
AfricanBalkanBellyBerberbluegrassbluesBrazilianCajunCaribbeanFlamencoGrateful DeadKlemerKidsReggaeSalsaSouth AsianSwingWorld



Donate Credit
To Contribute By Mail or Phone Click Here

Sign up to receive e-mails about Upcoming Shows

Myspace
YouTube
network with ashkenaz


Ashkenaz is ALWAYS ALL AGES, and offers beer, wine, and a vegetarian menu.

Coming to Ashkenaz in October
or Click to View October as Grid
Tuesday, October 2 Cajun/Zydeco/Blues
Doors at 7:30 pm
Lesson at 8:00 pm
Show at 8:30 pm
$10
Tom Rigney & Flambeau

Cajun/Zydeco dance lesson with Cheryl McBride

Wednesday, October 3 Folkdance
Doors at 6:30 pm
Lesson at 7:00 pm
Dance at 8:00 pm
$7
Balkan Folkdance

Balkan dance lesson


Thursday, October 4 Grateful Dead
Doors at 8:30 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$12
Stu Allen
& Mars Hotel









Friday, October 5
The Uptones
The Agent Deadlies
+ Ska Dance Contest
($200 cash prize!)

Ska

Doors at 8:00 pm
Show at 8:30 pm
$12 advance & students
$15 day of show

  Buy Tickets Online  





Saturday, October 6  

The Caribbean Allstars

Reggae/
Caribbean

Doors at 9:00 pm
Show at 9:30 pm

$13
$10 students

  Buy Tickets Online  
Sunday, October 7 “Silly Sundays” Kids’ Series
Doors at 2:30 pm
Show 3:00 – 4:30 pm

$4 kids
$6 adults
Jug Bandits
featuring
Zac Matthews
(Hot Buttered Rum co-founder)


Sunday, October 7 Benefit
Doors at 7:00 pm
Show at 7:30 pm
$10
Benefit for BOSS
(Building Opportunities for Self-Sufficiency)
Funky Nixons
Koyote
Yukon Hannibal

Tuesday, October 9 Cajun/Creole
Doors at 7:30 pm
Lesson at 8:00 pm
Show at 8:30 pm
$15
$12 students
Cedric Watson
& Bijou Creole


Cajun/Zydeco dance lesson with Diana Castillo
  Buy Tickets Online  
Wednesday, October 10 Grateful Dead
Doors at 8:30 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$12
Stu Allen
& Mars Hotel



Thursday, October 11 Caribbean Folk Music
Doors at 8:30 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$12
$10 students
Les Gwan Jupons
Sweetfoot & the Island Machine







Friday, October 12
Mamadou
& Vanessa

plus
Karamo Susso

West African

Doors at 8:30 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$15
$12 students

  Buy Tickets Online  





Saturday, October 13  
Kabile

Balkan dance lesson with Tanya Kostova

Traditional Wedding Band from Bulgaria

Doors at 7:30 pm
Lesson at 8:00 pm
Show at 9:00 pm

$15
$12 students

  Buy Tickets Online  
Sunday, October 14 “Silly Sundays” Kids’ Series
Doors at 2:30 pm
Show 3:00 – 4:30 pm

$4 kids
$6 adults
The Hipwaders
Sunday, October 14 Open Mic
Doors/Signup at 8:00 pm
Music at 8:30 pm
$5
Songwriters’
Open Mic

Tuesday, October 16 Cajun/Zydeco
Doors at 7:30 pm
Lesson at 8:00 pm
Show at 8:30 pm
$10
Tee Fee
Swamp Boogie


Cajun/Zydeco dance lesson with Diana Castillo
Wednesday, October 17 Grateful Dead
Doors at 8:30 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$12
Stu Allen
& Mars Hotel




Thursday, October 18 Indie Night
Doors at 8:30 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$10
$7 students

KALX presents

Will Sprott
(The Mumlers)
plus
Cal Music Spotlight contest winners:
Hot Flash Heat Wave
Molly Roth






Friday, October 19
Plotz!
plus
Fanfare Zambaleta

Balkan dance lesson

Balkan

Doors at 7:30 pm
Lesson at 8:00 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$10 advance & students
$15 day of show






Saturday, October 20
Peter Tosh Birthday Celebration
Tosh1

plus
Sister I-Live
The Nyabinghi Drummers
plus
Special Guests
Pre-Show Film

Reggae

Doors at 7:30 pm
Film at 8:00 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$20
$17 students

Sunday, October 21 “Silly Sundays” Kids’ Series
Doors at 2:30 pm
Show 3:00 – 4:30 pm

$4 kids
$6 adults
Ladybug Picnic
Sunday, October 21 Belly Dance
Doors at 7:00 pm
Show at 7:30 pm

$10
Suhaila International
presents

Belly Dance Nights
with
Salimpour Band
Tuesday, October 23 Cajun/Zydeco
Doors at 7:30 pm
Lesson at 8:00 pm
Show at 8:30 pm
$10
MotorDude Zydeco

Cajun/Zydeco dance lesson with Cheryl McBride
Wednesday, October 24 Grateful Dead
Doors at 8:30 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$12
Stu Allen
& Mars Hotel




Thursday, October 25 Soul/Pop/Reggae
Doors at 8:30 pm
Show at 9:00 pm
$12
$10 students

Naia Kete

I-Taweh
&
the Reggae Lions
featuring Nambo Robinson

 

 






Friday, October 26
Fishtank Ensemble
plus
Sour Mash Hug Band

World/Gypsy/
Balkan

Doors at 8:00 pm
Show at 8:30 pm
$12 advance & students
$15 day of show







Saturday, October 27
Cajun/Zydeco Halloween Ball
Mark St. Mary
Delta Blues & Zydeco Band
The BluesBox Bayou Band

Cajun/Zydeco dance lesson with Diana Castillo

Cajun/Zydeco

Doors at 7:30 pm
Lesson at 8:00 pm
Show at 9:00 pm

$15
$12 students

Sunday, October 28 “Silly Sundays” Kids’ Series
Doors at 2:30 pm
Show 3:00 – 4:30 pm

$4 kids
$6 adults
Octopretzel
Sunday, October 28 World/Persian/
Central Asian

Doors at 7:00 pm
Show at 7:30 pm
$10 advance & students
$15 day of show
East Meets West:
Music & Dance
with members of
Quadre
Ballet Afsaneh
Zaryab Ensemble

Tuesday, October 30 Cajun/Zydeco
Doors at 7:30 pm
Lesson at 8:00 pm
Show at 8:30 pm
$10
Andrew Carriere
& the Zydeco/Cajun Allstars


Cajun/Zydeco dance lesson with Cheryl McBride
Wednesday, October 31 Spirit Stomp
Doors at 8:30 pm
Show at 9:00 pm

$12
Gamelan X
El Radio Fantastique

Shovelman
Home